Meatless Monday: Mushroom Soup with Tomatoes and Leeks

I’m not a vegetarian, nor do I have any desire to be one. I don’t believe that every meal has to have meat in it. In fact, a lot of the meals I make are without a meat. Remember back in the 1990’s when being vegetarian was the coolest thing? “Oh, I’m a vegetarian…but I eat fish…and chicken…and ham at Easter.” So, basically, you don’t eat red meat? Sometimes I feel like one of those “vegetarians.” We don’t eat meat regularly, but when we do it’s seafood and fish…and sometimes chicken…and I love pork…and red meat.

In honor of Meatless Monday, I decided to make some mushroom soup. I’m a fan of the cream of…variety of mushroom soup (my own, not the canned stuff. In fact, it’s my personal mission to rid canned mushroom soup from all recipes around the world), but my baby boy does not handle dairy very well. I think the mushroom, tomato, and leeks combo worked pretty well.

Ingredients:

Olive oil

1/2 larger onion, diced

1 leek, sliced thin

2 cloves of garlic, minced

10 oz. of mushrooms, sliced

3 roma tomatoes, diced

6 cups of water

1 bay leaf

1 teaspoon of thyme

salt/pepper, to taste

Preparation:

1. Warm a couple teaspoons of olive oil in a large pot. Add the garlic, onion, and leeks. Cook over medium high heat until soft.

2. Add the mushrooms, tomatoes, water, bay leaf, thyme, and salt/pepper to the pot. Cook over medium high heat until boiling, then turn the heat to low and simmer over low heat for 30 minutes.

The soup was a hit. We didn’t have any leftovers. It was perfect for a cool spring evening.

One response

  1. interesting tonight for dinner i had mac and cheese made with mushrooms and leeks 🙂 guess it was a mushroom and leek sort of day

Leave a Reply

