Dinner Fail.

My crockpot dinner was a complete disaster last night. I was attempting to make a slow cooker cilantro lime chicken dish, which I highlighted on Friday. However, I was on autopilot as I was reading the recipe. The recipe said to cook for 6 hours on low, and I turned it on before work around 6:30am, and came home to it at 4:30. In my defense, I’ve never had a crockpot recipe that didn’t call for 4-6 hours on high or 8-10 on low. I had charred, brown muck. It tasted good, but it was still mucky looking. To add insult to injury, I was taking care of Nico while preparing rice…and it burned on the bottom. I like having some body to my rice (which is why I use brown rice), but not quite the crunch I had yesterday. Buster, my dog, enjoyed it though.

To make myself feel better, I decided to make some iced coffee last night. I recalled the Pioneer Woman’s recipe for perfect iced coffee, so I decided to go with that. It turned out great. I highly suggest following her recipe for iced coffee. I’m feeling good, because while iced coffee is pretty cheap at Starbucks, it becomes a bit more expensive with the double chocolate brownie I get each time I go there. Saving my wallet and my body some damage. Win!

Oh well. Sorry for the lack-o-blog. Tomorrow, I will share my baby food adventures, and on Thursday I share a recipe using items from my weekly CSA box. I scarfed down 2 beautiful oranges last night from the box (for dinner, since I burned up my intended dinner), so hopefully I have some food left to blog about.

 

One response

  1. I had to like this post. You learned a REALLY valuable lesson and I’m glad you posted it so others can learn too. You’re so rad!
    Also, I fcking love iced coffee. I usually do it the brew and chill way but this cold brew thing has intrigued me. When I finish my current gallon I’m going to try it that way.
    In any case, since summer is about here I’ll always have iced Starbucks Italian roast (my fav for iced coffee) and sugar-free caramel syrup on hand. You know, in case you decide to come hang out with Nico.

Leave a Reply

