Cooking for Baby: Green Beans

I plan on making the majority of the food that Nico eats. So far, it’s been going pretty well. I plan to do some purees for a while, and then transition into more baby-led weaning. That being said, I realize there are going to be times where it’s not realistic to have homemade baby food cubes with me, which is why I have research and selected a couple brands of organic baby food for the diaper bag or when we are traveling.

Today, I made green beans for Nico. It’s one of the foods listed as good for babies around 6 months. I didn’t find any fresh beans–think it’s a little early for them–so I picked up some frozen organic ones. Apparently, fresh beans can be a bit difficult to work into a puree, so I think I may have benefited.

There’s not a ton of difficulty associated with making baby food purees. I just followed the preparation directions on the bean’s packaging. From there, I threw the beans into the blender with a little bit of water.

The texture of the puree was slightly chalky, but not unappetizing. It’s slightly sweet, which my little guy seems to like a lot–but not too sweet, which my little guy does not like. He ate up the green beans right away. In fact, he was taking whole spoonfuls and not drooling any out (which is the norm when Nico is eating). I figured we had a new favorite food…until we took his shirt off for a bath.

Seems like our little Nico is allergic to green beans. My friends say to try it one more time to make sure it’s the beans, but I don’t want to see that horrible rash on him again.

5 responses

  1. Don’t know if there’s any truth to it or not, but I once heard a friend suggest that sometimes our favorite foods can be the very foods we have sensitivities to. Perhaps that’s a reason why he enjoyed them so much?

Leave a Reply

