CSA Meal: Salad with Avocado Dressing

I was so excited to get signed back up with Skarsgard Farms‘ weekly CSA boxes. It’s a great way for us to get organic produce that is also local and seasonal. This week’s box had oranges, peaches, avocados, beets, cucumbers, and greens galore! Arugula, a spring greens blend, and romaine lettuce. I knew I wanted to make a salad, and I wanted to incorporate the avocados…but not simply cut one up and place it in salad. So I decided to made an avocado dressing.

Avocado Dill Dressing

Ingredients:

1 avocado

1 lemon

1 clove of garlic

1 teaspoon of dill

a splash of rice vinegar

1/4 cup of water

1/4 cup of olive oil

salt/pepper, to taste

Avocado Dill Dressing

Preparation:

1. Cut the avocado into chunks and place in the blender. Add the garlic, lemon, dill, rice vinegar, and water. Blend for 20 seconds.

2. While avocado mix is blending, slowly add the olive oil.

3. Transfer to a dressing container. Add salt and pepper, to taste.

4. Drizzle over mixed salad.

Simple Salad with Avocado Dill Dressing

When I was thinking up this dressing in my head, I had a vision of a vinaigrette of sorts. However, the dressing ended up like the consistency of bleu cheese dressing. Don’t get me wrong, it was delicious. And I am not sure how I planned to take something chunky and creamy, like an avocado, into a thin dressing. Either way, I am happy with the dressing. I am particularly proud of my avocado-dill combination. I figured that would either be a big hit or a huge miss.

My salad was very simple, mixed spring greens (CSA box), tomato, cucumber (CSA box), and radishes. Since the dressing was pretty complex, I didn’t want to make a salad that competed with it. I picked up a beautiful loaf of pumpernickel bread, and it made a great meal!

Simple Salad with Avocado Dill Dressing

Leave a Reply

