Lemon Pasta with Shrimp and Arugula

The other day when I was busy working hard pinning yummy dishes on Pinterest, I pinned a pasta dish. Since then, it has been haunting me. It looked fabulous. However, the pin did not go to someone’s blog or website…it was a photobucket image. I am sure I could have found the original recipe if I put in a little bit of effort. I decided to wing it and make the dish based on the image and my imagination. It turned out delicious.

Lemon Pasta with Arugula and Shrimp

Ingredients:

3/4 package of linguine noodles, prepared as directed

1/2 large onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 lb of shrimp, peeled and deveined

juice of 1 lemon

juice of 1 lime

zest of 1 lemon

1/2 cup of olive oil

salt & pepper, to taste

2 large handfuls of arugula

Preparation:

1. Prepare the noodles, as directed

2. Add a couple teaspoons of olive oil to a large frying pan, add the onions and garlic. Cook for 3-5 minutes, or until soft.

3. Add the shrimp to the frying pan. Cook until the shrimp pinks, over medium heat.

4. Add the noodles, lemon and lime juice, zest, salt/pepper, and olive oil. Combine thoroughly.

5. Add the arugula to the pasta mixture, mix and allow to wilt. Remove from heat.

This was so good. It was a perfect pasta dish for warm weather. I loved the fresh citrus taste with the peppery arugula. I love pasta, by I feel a little guilty and worry that there’s not enough of the good stuff (i.e. veggies) in most dishes. Huge handfuls of arugula helps to keep me from feeling that way.

Leave a Reply

