Crock Potin’- Pasta E Fagioli

I found this week’s crock pot recipe on Pinterest. It’s a recipe for Pasta E Fagioli soup that is supposed to be very similar to a soup that the Olive Garden serves. It looked yummy, so I thought I’d try it.

I followed the recipe point-by-point, except that I used 3 tomatoes (diced), as opposed to using a can of tomatoes. I always substitute fresh for canned tomatoes, just like I refuse to use “cream of…” anything soup in a recipe. This soup was PERFECT. I am not sure if I would have had the same opinion if the weather had been a New Mexico May normal (i.e. 80’s). Today was a chilly, windy day, and we are supposed to get storms this evening. Coming home to a big pot of soup was ideal.

This is the second recipe in as many weeks that had weird crockpot cooking times. Again, it called for cooking over low heat for 6-8 hours. Impossible with my work schedule. However, the blogger shared an alternative stovetop cooking option. I decided to do that. Last night, I prepared all the ingredients and put them into a cooking pot. I came home and threw it on the stove. I really need to get one of those new, fancy crockpots with the digital programmer.

Leave a Reply

