Cooking for Baby: Peaches!

My CSA box from last week had spring peaches! After checking out my favorite baby food website, Wholesome Baby Food, I decided to introduce peaches to Nico next. The website strongly encouraged baking peaches, as opposed to boiling them, to bring out the sweetness of the fruit. So that’s what I did.

Baking Peaches

The recipe (it’s down toward the bottom of the page) was straightforward and simple. I just cut the peaches in half, took out the pit, and then put them cut side down in a pyrex dish with about an inch of water. Then, I baked them until the skin began to pucker, removed the skins, and blended with the leftover water.

Peaches Prepped and Ready to Freeze

They were a big hit with Nico. He loves peaches. I was happy that I could make a meal that’s both organic and semi-local. I am trying to decide what to make for him next. We’ve done avocado, butternut squash, sweet potatoes (he hated them), pears, peas, green beans, and peaches. Any suggestions?

One response

  1. I used to make Spinach baby food for the boys. They liked it (I wish they would still eat veggies now!) I used frozen thou but I am sure you could use fresh.

Leave a Reply

