CSA Meals: Kale Pesto Pasta

I have serious love for kale. Super serious. And it’s a recent love affair. I am not sure I ever had kale, besides a plate garnish up until this past couple months. And now I am crazy for it. I first tried it in the form of homemade kale chips. Yummy, like sushi seaweed. Then, I decided to wilt some of it in a pasta dish or something. It’s a strong, mighty green. It’s ridiculously good for you, and it tastes great.

Last year, I got into making non-basil pestos. I made arugula pesto, I made pea pesto. Each were delicious, so I figured making a kale pesto would be a good idea too.

Ingredients:

1 lb of kale, sliced into small chunks

1/2 onion, diced

juice of 1 lime

5 tablespoons of olive oil

2 oz of goat cheese

salt/pepper, to taste

1 package of spaghetti, prepared as directed

4 oz of mushrooms, sliced

2 roma tomatoes, diced

2 oz goat cheese

 

Preparation:

1. In a large pot, put on water to boil. Add the onion and boil for 3-5 minutes. Add the kale, and simmer for 2-3 minutes.

2. Scoop the kale and onion into the blender or food processor. For ease of mixing, you may want to add kale in several steps.

3. Add the olive oil, goat cheese, and lime juice to the blender and mix. Stop and stir the mixture. Add leftover pasta water, if necessary to thin out the pesto.

4. Adjust taste with salt and pepper.

5. Mix the pesto with the pasta. Add the tomatoes and mushrooms, mix well.

6. Garnish with the goat cheese.

 

This was so yummy! Mark loved it too, which was funny, because he said he wanted something “meat and potatoes” for dinner, and this is what I came up with. Best wife ever. I had extra pesto, which I froze for later use. I think this will become a favorite in our home.

Leave a Reply

