Beets 2 Ways

Beets are in season. For the past 3 weeks, my CSA box has included organic, locally grown beets…and this week’s box will have some too! I’ve roasted beets, boiled them, and shaved them over a salad. They’ve been sitting waiting for me to decide what I wanted to do with them. On to another in-season veggie we’ve been enjoying-kale. I’ve mentioned my mad love for kale, and one of my favorite things to do with kale is to make kale chips. It’s simple stuff–torn leaves, a little olive oil, and a touch of salt. Why not do the same thing with beets? I’ve had commercially-made beet chips before, why not make some fresh ones?

Ingredients:

3 beets

2 tablespoons of olive oil

1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar

sea salt

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

2. Cut the beets from the stems and greens (set aside and save for later). Peel the beets, and slice into thin chunks. I used a kitchen knife, but if you have a fancy slicer, I’d use that.

3. Toss the beets, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar in a dish.

4. Place the beet slices on a cookie sheet in a single layer. Sprinkle with sea salt. Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes, or until the beets are crispy. Turn the beet chips about halfway through. At about 20-25 minutes, check your thinner beet chips. You may need to pull them early.

These were so good! As far as texture, they are pretty close to that of potato chips, and I think would make a good transition food for those trying to quit potato chips. The crispiness with the salt and olive oil was just right for a midday snack. I look forward to trying different flavors to incorporate with the beets.

Beet greens are incredibly healthy. It’s practically a crime not to use them. After making the beet chips, I looks at the greens and thought to myself, “What should I do with them?” I had dinner in the crockpot (Monday’s blog), and it was well past lunch time. I was a little hungry, so I decided to just wilt the greens and have them for a snack.

Ingredients:

greens of 3 beets, stems cut away

olive oil

salt, to taste

 

Preparation:

1. In a small frying pan, warm a couple tablespoons of olive oil.

2. Add the greens and allow to wilt, stirring constantly.

3. Season with salt and enjoy.

 

Yum. I feel major guilt for wasting the green tops of various veggies over the years. It was a quick, easy, and healthy snack that I would have otherwise thrown away.

Leave a Reply

