Home Fries

20130103-214211.jpg

Lately my CSA box has been full of potatoes. I love potatoes. However, we don’t usually go through a bag of potatoes in a week. I looked in my pantry the other day and I had 2.5 bags of potatoes. I also had a bag of sweet potatoes. How the hell am I to use all these potatoes?

Luckily, at the same time Potato-polooza was discovered, I also noticed we ran out of eggs and yogurt. I decided to make home fries for breakfast. I wanted to go for simple, but as I was dicng the potatoes, I decided to throw in a couple sweet potatoes. Nico totally approved, which is funny, because he hated sweet potatoes when he was around 7 months old.

Home Fries

2 tablespoons of butter
4 potatoes, diced
3 sweet potatoes, diced
1 onion, diced
Salt, pepper, and any other spices that seem fitting

1. In a large pot, add the sweet potatoes and potatoes and cover with water. Bring to a boil over medium high heat. Drain potatoes.
2. Warm a skillet, add butter, and add the onion. Cook over medium heat until the onions are soft.
3. Add the potatoes to the onions and mix well. Continue to cook for 15 minutes, until the potatoes begin to brown. Season with salt and pepper, as well as other desired seasonings.

We loved these! A bit labor intensive for breakfast, in my opinion, but so worth it. It made quite a lot of home fries, so we had the leftovers for dinner with some mahi mahi.

Leave a Reply

